Champions' Cup Competitors

Champions' Cup Competitors

76th Champions Cup Competitors!

The champions’ of Irish Sailing are coming together on the 7th – 8th of October for a weekend of racing at Foynes Yacht Club in the Mermaid class to see who comes out as this year's overall champion.  Thank you to the Club, the Mermaid Class and all the boat owners and representatives.

You can see the list of past winner's HERE

Each class has nominated their national champion with the added nominations of Female Helms and the Presidents Choice nominations. This years event is being hosted by the Mermaid Class who are delighted to extend the inclusion of 18 teams instead of 16 for this years event. Crews will consist of three overall, the Helm, their selected crew and a Mermaid Representative for each boat.


As is custom last years champion is invited back.

Ger Owens

(Bray SC)

A member of the GP14 class and 2022’s Champion.


Paul McMahon

(Howth YC)

Nominated from the RS Aero Class for a 1st Place their National Championships


Johnny Durcan

(Baltimore SC & Royal Cork YC)

Nominated from the Team Racing committee as the Captain of the winning team at this year’s I.U.S.A Team Racing Championships in Carlingford SC.


Dave Bailey

(Bray SC)

Nominated from the J24 class after coming 1st at their national championships.


Ross Kearney

(Royal North YC)

Kearney has been nominated by the GP14 class. He gained a 3rd place at Class National Championships (1st place is the 2022 returning Champions’ Cup Champion, 2nd place is also the Squib Class National Champion)


Frank Guy

(Lough Derg YC)

Guy is from the Shannon One Design class after taking 1st place at their national Championship’s.


Ross McDonald

(Howth YC)

The 1720 class have nominated McDonald for his 1st place at last year National Championships.


Fiachra McDonnell

(Royal St. George YC)

Fiachra is the 2022 Junior Champion’ but as he is now over the age of 18 he has progressed into the Senior Level. Again producing a very impressive season he has been nominated from the ILCA 6 class after producing a 2nd place at their National Championships.

He is then Joined by the ICLA 7 National Champion:


Jamie McMahon

(Howth YC)

Jamie had similarly gone through the performance pathway as Fiachra has. After a windy weekend in Howth Jamie came out as 2023’s National Champion.

Both ILCA sailors are then joined by their training partner and fellow pathway graduate:


Finn Lynch

(National YC)

Lynch is one of this years President’s Choice awards off the back of qualifying the nation in the Men’s Dinghy class for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

Description image of Champions' Cup Competitors

Andy Verso

(Greystones SC)

Nominated from the RS400 class after winning the National Championships.


Neil Spain

(Howth YC)

Spain is a Keelboat sailor and has been nominated by ICRA for his overall win at the National Championship’s. He Helms the boat ‘Outrajeous.’


Niall O’Brien

(Flying Fifteens Chonamara)

Nominated by the Flying Fifteen class after placing 1st at their National Championships.


Ruan O'Tiarnaigh

(Bray SC, RYC, RUYC)

Is nominated from the Squib Class after his 2nd place finish at their National Championship’s.


Jim Carthy

(Rush SC)

Member of the host class and winner of National Championship's.


Rosa Lyden

(Baltimore SC)

Rosa has been nominated as one of this years Female Helms. She has been nominated by the Team Racing Class after being one of the three helms on the winning team at this year's intervarsities alongside Johnny Durcan and Michaél O'Suilleabhain. One of very few female helms to be on a winning varsities team in 

Monica Schaefer

(Greystones SC)

The second of this years Female Helm Nominee’s from the Wayferer class from her 1st place at the National Championship’s.


Cillian Dickson

(Lough Ree YC)

And our Final Nominee and President’s Choice has been awarded to Cillian Dickson of the back of their extremely successful international season in the J24 Class. Cillian is the Helm of ‘Headcase’ that won the J24 Europeans and placed 4th at the Worlds.

This year promises to be a very exciting event on the water with several fellow teammates competing against one another and many big players from the international stage in the mix. One’s to watch are Olympic Veteran’s Ger Owens and Finn Lynch, Irish Sailing’s 49er sailor Johnny Durcan, J24 European Champion Cillian Dickson and ILCA Sailors Jamie McMahon and Fiachra McDonell.



You Can Receive Our Round Up News Email


Any changes to syllabus, law or influences that effect training centres, clubs and classes
will be posted as OFFICIAL Notices or TRAINING NOTICES and listed here.