2019 AGM and 2018 Annual Report

2019 AGM and 2018 Annual Report

The Annual General Meeting of the Irish Sailing Association was held on Saturday 30th March 2019 @ 11am in the Royal Irish Yacht Club, Dun Laoghaire, Co Dublin

Attendance: Jack Roy, Paddy McGlade, Pat Donnelly, John Twomey, Sarah Byrne, Nikki Curran, Rory Carberry, David O’Brien, Neil Murphy, Val Fox, Joe Costello, Stephen Bosil, Donal Dwyer, Tom Conway, Richard Colwell, Kyran O’Grady, Chris Moore, Ian Byrne, Harry Hermon, Treasa Cox, Liz Hall, Sheila Johnson

Apologies:  Niall O’Neill, Jim O’Sullivan, Sharon Bergin, Kathryn Collins, Bryony Berry, Derek O’Shea, Boris Fennema, David O’Donovan, Seamus Butler, Peter Bowring, Niamh McCutcheon, Eileen O’Donovan, Simon McGibney, Brian Craig, James Lyons, Fiona Bolger, Róisín Gaynor

Minutes from 2018 were read, then proposed by Sarah Byrne, Greystones Sailing Club and Seconded by Rory Carberry, Galway Bay Sailing Club, and adopted by the members present.

Jack Roy, Irish Sailing President welcomed everyone and delivered his Annual President's Report.

John Twomey delivered the report for 2018 accounts and invited questions. The accounts were proposed by Tom Conway, Wexford Harbour Boat and Tennis Club and seconded by Chris Moor, Dublin Bay Sailing Club. Infographic of funding is available here.

Jack Roy was re-elected as President.

Brian Craig having served his term has retired in accordance with article 60. Simon McGibney having served his term as Commodore of ICRA also retired from the Irish Sailing Board.

The following candidates were put forward for election:

  • Colin Kavanagh – Nominated by the Board
  • Richard Colwell – Nominated by Howth Yacht Club
  • James Lyons – Nominated by Kinsale Yacht Club
  • David O’Brien – Nominated by Royal Cork Yacht Club

No submissions for other business had been received, so after thanking everyone for attending and wishing all well for the coming year Jack Roy formally closed the meeting.