Volunteer of the Year 2020 Nominees Are Out

Volunteer of the Year 2020 Nominees Are Out

Volunteer of the Year Award – Nominee list is out !

We know that volunteers are the backbone of our sports, but 2020 was a year like no other. It saw many people make an incredible contribution in responding to people’s needs during Covid-19 and going above and beyond in their daily lives to help others.

This year the Irish Sailing Volunteer of the Year has been reintroduced, and is an award which aims to celebrate and recognise the hundreds of remarkable people across the country who selflessly give their time and talent to benefit others in our sports.

Dozens of volunteers around the country have been nominated by you - congratulations to everyone. A shortlist from these nominations will now be determined by a panel of judges with the winner announced at the Virtual Irish Sailing Awards.

Don’t forget to register for your tickets to the Virtual Irish Sailing Awards, taking place on  Thursday 11 February at 7pm. We’re going online with a live event to celebrate the highlights in our sports for 2020.

Find out more here: https://www.sailing.ie/Events/Awards

And the nominees for the 2020 Irish Sailing Volunteer of the Year Award are:

  • Collette Blake - Wexford Harbour Boat & Tennis Club
  • John Buckley Sligo Yacht Club and Mullaghmore Sailing Club
  • Bryan (Teddy) Byrne - Howth Yacht Club
  • Ian Byrne - Howth Yacht Club
  • Rosemary Cadogan - National Yacht Club
  • Johnny Casey - Wexford Harbour Boat & Tennis Club
  • John Clementson - Irish Cruising Club
  • Maurice Collins - Royal Cork Yacht Club
  • Rachel Cotter - Oysterhaven Centre
  • Colm Croasdell - Lough Ree Yacht Club
  • Rachel Crowley - Royal St George Yacht Club
  • Saki Curtin - Royal Cork Yacht Club
  • Christopher Evans Garrett - Malahide Yacht Club
  • Therese Flavin - Malahide Yacht Club
  • Tony Hayes - Greystones Sailing Club
  • Donal Hickey - Kinsale Yacht Club & Sailability
  • Paddy Judge - Howth Yacht Club
  • Mandy Kelly - Sutton Dinghy Club & IODAI
  • David Leahy - Oysterhaven Centre
  • John Leahy - Cruising Association of Ireland
  • Colum McCaffrey - Malahide Seascouts
  • Suzanne McGarry - Dublin Bay Sailing Club & Royal St George Yacht Club
  • Enda Murphy - Wexford Harbour Boat & Tennis Club
  • Johnny Murphy - Galway City Sailing Club
  • Mairead Ni Cheallachain - National Yacht Club & Dublin Bay Sailing Club
  • Mal Nowlan - National Yacht Club
  • Ben O'Sullivan - Waterford Harbour Sailing Club
  • Sheila O'Sullivan - Baltimore Sailing Club
  • Olive Parker - Skerries Sailing Club
  • Gerry Rowe - Bray Sailing Club
  • Jack  Roy 
  • Pat Ryan - Galway Bay Sailing Club & Sailability
  • Peter Ryan - ISORA
  • Andrew Semple - Clontarf Yacht & Boat Club
  • Dara Totterdell - National Yacht Club
  • David Williams - Waterwag Class
  • Glyn Williams - Irish National Sailing Club
Description image of Volunteer of the Year 2020 Nominees Are Out
You Can Receive Our Round Up News Email


Any changes to syllabus, law or influences that effect training centres, clubs and classes
will be posted as OFFICIAL Notices or TRAINING NOTICES and listed here.