A fresh ruling from the US Sailing Appeals Committee is offering much-needed clarity on the often-contested concept of “mark-room.” Appeal 130, published in the 2025–2028 Appeals Book, dives into what space a boat is truly entitled to when rounding a mark.
The key takeaway? A boat is only entitled to the space needed to round a mark in a “seamanlike” way—no more, no less. That means no extra room for tactical manoeuvres like gybing unless it’s essential to continue racing efficiently.
The appeal outlines several real-world scenarios, including windward and leeward mark rounding's, and even finishing marks, helping sailors understand when they’re protected by the rules—and when they’re not.
This interpretation is expected to reduce confusion and protests on the water, making for cleaner, fairer racing. For racers and race officers alike, it’s a must-read update. Please see attached to read the ruling in full.