Race officials

Listed below are all currently valid Irish Sailing Race Officials, their qualifications and contact details.

If you or the Race Official you are looking for is not listed please email Liz

Please note that this page is currently under review, there may be errors, please bear with us we are working on this page as quickly as possible

Last updated: Monday, 28/11/2017 @ 13.30 pm
QualificationNameEmailPhone MobileCountyArea Willing to Travel
Regional Mark LayerAdrian Eggersadrianeggers@gmail.com0878131642Co. DublinLeinster
National JudgeAilbe Millerickailbemillerick@gmail.com087 2628980Co. DublinNationwide
Local Race OfficerAnn Williamshaw.ann@gmail.comCo. CorkCork
National JudgeAnthony O'Learyaol@oli.ie087 2562796Co. CorkNationwide
Regional Race OfficerBarry Macneaneybarry@aef.ie087 2202887Co. WicklowNationwide
Regional Race OfficerBarry O'NeillBarryblackrock@gmail.com087 2399420Co. DublinLeinster
International JudgeBill O'Harabilloharairl@gmail.com0044 7989 305 815Nationwide
Local Race OfficerBrian Brycebrian@bryceit.net086 3866165Co. LimerickLimerick & Munster Area
National Race OfficerBrian Mathewsbrian@allspec.ie087 2532759Co. DublinNationwide
Local Race OfficerBrian Rafterybrian@raftery.ie087 8326600Co. SligoConnaught
Local Race OfficerBruce Matthewsmatthewsbruce14@gmail.com086 2308435Co. CorkKinsale Only
National UmpireChris Lindsaychristopher.lindsay@yahoo.co.uk00447889165077Co. AntrimNationwide
International JudgeChris Lindsaychristopher.lindsay@yahoo.co.uk00447889165077Co. AntrimNationwide
National Race OfficerCiaran McSweeneyciaran@dw.ie087 2820765Co. CorkNationwide
National Race OfficerColin McMullencolinmcmullen@eircom.net086 8354732Co. MayoNationwide
International Race OfficerCon Murphyconmurphy178@gmail.com087 2439843Dublin 14Nationwide
Local Race OfficerCormac O'Carrollcormac_@mac.com087 6439425Co. CorkMunster
National UmpireCxema Picocxema.pico@gmail.com087 9173362Co. DublinNationwide
International JudgeCxema Picocxema.pico@gmail.com087 9173362Co. DublinNationwide
National Race OfficerDave Vinnelldvinnell@gmail.com087 2846474Co. GalwayNationwide
Regional JudgeDavid Cottercotter.dave@gmail.com087 051 5888Dublin 13Nationwide
National JudgeDavid Dicksondisksondavid@orange.fr086 6085504Co. WestmeathNationwide
National Race OfficerDavid Hartedavid@schullsailing.ie086 3717241Co. CorkCork & Kerry
Local Race OfficerDavid MacKenziedmackdublin@gmail.com087 2320179Co. DublinLeinster
National Race OfficerDavid O'Brienobriendavida@gmail.com086 2578292Co. CorkNationwide
Local Race OfficerDonal Hayesdonalhayes@gmail.com087 6488407Co. CorkMunster
National Race OfficerDonal Mc Clementmcclement@eircom.net086 8563095Co. CorkNationwide
National UmpireEd Alcockedalcock.ie@gmail.com086 819 4390Dublin 3Nationwide & International
National JudgeEd Alcockedalcock.ie@gmail.com086 819 4390Dublin 3Nationwide & International
Local Race OfficerEd Alcockedalcock.ie@gmail.com086 819 4390Dublin 3Nationwide & International
Regional Race OfficerEdward Totterdelledward@totterdells.ie086 8108319Co. DublinNationwide
National Mark LayerEdward Totterdelledward@totterdells.ie086 8108319Co. DublinNationwide
National JudgeEmmet Daltonemmetontour@gmail.com083 365 2970Co. DublinNationwide
Local Race OfficerFergus Kelliherferguskelliher@eircom.net086 8266442Co. KerryKerry
Local Race OfficerFergus O'Conchobhairwarmsandbluesea@gmail.com086 2622806Leinster
National JudgeFergus O'Kellyfergusjokelly@gmail.com086 2550992Dublin 13Nationwide
National Mark LayerFrank (Mal) Nowlanmal.nowlan@gmail.com086 8302924Co. DublinNationwide
Local Race OfficerFrank Brownefrank@stelladoradus.com353 0868118492Co. WaterfordLough Ree Only
Regional Mark LayerGearoid O'Riaingearoidoriain@hotmail.com086 6493719Dublin 18Leinster
National Race OfficerGeoff O'Donoghuem.geoff.odonoghue@gmail.com086 2612665Co. TipperaryNationwide
National UmpireGordon Daviesgordonwilliamdavies@gmail.com086 1501220Co. WicklowNationwide
International JudgeGordon Daviesgordonwilliamdavies@gmail.com086 1501220Co. WicklowNationwide
National Race OfficerHarry Gallagherjvhgallagher@gmail.com087 6536610Dublin 13Nationwide
National Race OfficerHenry Leonardhenryleonard2012@gmail.com087 2567310Dublin 18Leinster
Regional Race OfficerIan Mathewsimathews@tcd.ie086 8470055Co. DublinLeinster & Munster
National JudgeIan Sargentisargent@eircom.net087 6791069Dublin 13Nationwide
Local Race OfficerJack Baylydebsboro@incite.ie087 2687764Co. TipperaryMid West/Tipperary
International Race OfficerJack Royjack.roy@fagerhult.ie086 2586087Co. DublinNationwide
Local Race OfficerJill Flemingcjhenman@gmail.com087 2741995Co. DublinLeinster
Regional JudgeJill Flemingcjhenman@gmail.com087 2741995Co. DublinLeinster
Regional Race OfficerJim Lambkinjlambkin@hotmail.com086 0406484Dublin 13Dublin & Cork
Local Race OfficerJoe Crillyestercrilly@gmail.comCo. Wicklow
Regional Race OfficerJohn Banimjohn.banim@gmail.com0872446938Co. LongfordNationwide
Regional Race OfficerJohn Stallardjohnostallard@gmail.com086 8209042Co. CorkMunster
Local Race OfficerJohn Williamsejwmac@icloud.comCo. CorkCork
Regional Race OfficerLarry PowerLarry@larryPower.ie087 2431638Dublin 18
National Race OfficerLiam Dinneenliamdinneen2000@eircom.net087 2438675Co. DublinLeinster
National Race OfficerLiam Maloneymaloneyld@gmail.com086 3183144Co. TipperaryLoughDerg,Lough Ree & Southern half of the country
Local Race OfficerLochlann O'Reganmail@xlorx.com0862654260Co. Roscommon
National JudgeMark O'Donovanmodonovan@neodyne.ie087 2855021Co. CorkMunster
Regional Race OfficerMark Ushermark@apin.ie087 2250035Co. WicklowNationwide
National Race OfficerMartin Byrnemartin@astitchintime.ie086 2592528Co. DublinNationwide
Local Race OfficerMartin MacNamaramacnamara.martin@gmail.com086 8599775Co. ClareLimerick/Clare/Tipperary/Lough Ree
Regional Race OfficerMichael Conwayconwaysail@gmail.com086 3089835Co. WexfordNationwide
National Race OfficerMichael Doylemacdoyle@eircom.net087 2418968Co. WexfordLeinster & East Munster
International JudgeMichael O'Connormoconnor@corkbic.com086 8309161Co. CorkNationwide
Local Race OfficerMicheal Lynchmichealglanmire@eircom.net087 2676708Co. CorkMunster
Regional Mark LayerNeil Colinneil.colin@sweettgroup.com086 7979331Dublin 18Leinster
National Race OfficerNeil J Prendevilleneiljprendeville@gmail.com087 283 7639Co. CorkNationwide
National JudgeNeil Murphyneilmurphy6413@yahoo.com086 3777614Dublin 5Leinster
National Race OfficerNigel Kearneynigelkearney@btinternet.com+44 7973 193129Co. Down NINationwide
Local Race OfficerPaddy J Judgepaddyjudge@eircom.net0879926845Co. DublinNationwide
Local Race OfficerPat McCormickpat.mccormick@dkit.ie086 8135 464Co. Louth
Regional Race OfficerPatrick Blaneypatrick.blaney@phblaney.com086 8503600Co. TipperaryMunster
International Race OfficerPeter Crowleypeter@crwly.com086 8200290Co. CorkNationwide
National Race Officer Emeritus (E)Peter Mckennapetermckenna343@gmail.com087 2521500Dublin 13Dublin
Regional Mark LayerPhilip FergusonFerguson.Philip@iCloud.com086 8147060Co. DublinLeinster
Regional Mark LayerPierce H Purcellpiercep88@hotmail.com+353872987555/Co. GalwayConnaught
National Race OfficerRichard Kissanekissaner@hotmail.com087 6780224Dublin 13Nationwide
National Race OfficerRichard Leonardrichardleonardqs@eircom.net087 2408754Co. CorkMunster
Local Race OfficerRobert Orrrorr@eircom.net087-6184459Co. DublinLeinster
National Race OfficerRobin Grayrobin@robingray.co.uk0044 07 808 395294Co. Down NINationwide
National Race OfficerRobin Kayrobinkay@eircom.net087 2326007Co. DublinNationwide
National Mark LayerRobin Kayrobinkay@eircom.net087 2326007Co. DublinNationwide
National Race OfficerRuan O'Tiarnaighsailing@otiarnaigh.com+447713636703Co. Down NINationwide
Regional Race OfficerRupert Jeffaresrjeffares@gmail.com087 2418965Co. DublinLeinster
National JudgeScorie Wallsscorie@mail.com087 2848316Dublin 13Dublin
National Mark LayerStephen Harrisstephen@dlmp.ie087 2511145Dublin 13Nationwide
Regional Race OfficerTony Iresontireson@eircom.netCo. CorkNationwide
National JudgeVincent Delanydelanyvincent@gmail.com0868575374Co. DublinNationwide
National UmpireVincent Delanydelanyvincent@gmail.com0868575374Co. DublinNationwide

Irish Sailing Race Official Policies

Irish Sailing Race Official Application forms

Irish Sailing Race Officials

Irish Sailing has five disciplines of race official:

  • Judge
  • Race Officer
  • Umpire
  • Measurer
  • Mark Layer

JUDGE

The work of a Judge in the sport of sailing includes a wide range of services to competitors and race organisers, including the hearing of protests and requests for redress, deciding questions of eligibility and boat measurement compliance, and being present on the water watching for rule infringements. Irish Sailing has four categories of Judge; National Judge (NJ), National Judge Emeritus NRO (E)*, Regional Judge (RJ) and Protest Committee. The highest recognition is the ISAF qualification of “International Judge”.

RACE OFFICER

Race Officers are sailors who serve on-the-water as the Race Officer (previously known as the Officer of the Day or OOD) and manage a race. The term Race Officer refers to the person who leads the team running races. He or she is normally on the committee boat or in the start area ashore.

Irish Sailing has established four categories of Race Officer; National Race Officer (NRO), National Race Officer Emeritus NRO (E)*, Regional Race Officer (RRO) and Local Race Officer (LRO).

UMPIRE

Both Match and Team Racing use a system of umpiring, in which penalties are imposed during the race, avoiding, for the most part, the need for conventional protests. Irish Sailing recognises two categories of Umpire; National Umpire (NU) and Regional Umpire (RU). The highest recognition is the ISAF qualification of “International Umpire”.

MEASURER

Measurers are appointed by a class association to ensure that boats are built and continue to comply with the class measurement rules. The highest recognition is the ISAF qualification of “International Measurer”.

MARK LAYER

Mark Layers main responsibilities are for laying marks to set the course for a race and also give information to the Race Officer on wind strength and direction at any time across the course area. The Mark Layers usually work from a fast power boat equipped with a GPS. Ideally there will be more than one mark laying boat to facilitate speedy course alterations for wind direction changes. During the race, they may also be used as a patrol/safety boat. Irish Sailing recognises three categories of Mark Layer: Local Mark Layer (LML), Regional Mark Layer (RML) and National Mark Layer (NML).

*A number of National Race Officials have indicated that, while active at local or club level, they no longer wish to act as Race Officials for a national championship or other major event. In recognition of their many years’ service to racing sailors and their considerable knowledge of race management, it was decided to institute a fourth grade of Irish Sailing Race Official – National Race Officer or Judge Emeritus, NRO (E) & National Judge Emeritus NJ (E). It is hoped that these race officials will encourage and mentor those progressing through the grades to achieve National Race Official status.

RACE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMME

Irish Sailing Race Management Programme is designed to improve and standardise race management in Ireland. Irish Sailng would like to encourage individuals interested in race management to join this programme.

With an increasing number of top international events being hosted in Ireland it is vital that a very high standard of event management be achieved.

To meet these requirements, Irish Sailing, through the Irish Sailing Race Management Advisory Group, has established a Race Management Development Programme. This will apply not only to race officers but to other race committee personnel with the ultimate objective of establishing a nationally recognised core of experienced and highly competent race management teams throughout the country. Race Officer grading is determined by the Irish Sailing Race Management Advisory Group and will remain valid for 4 years from date of appointment unless subsequently amended. Clubs and Classes are requested to select race officers of the appropriate grade for each of their events and should specify the race officers for each event when submitting their programme of events to Irish Sailing.

Sailing Passport for Race Officials

ISAF Race Officials Manuals

ISAF International Judges Manual
ISAF International Measurers Manual
ISAF International Race Management Manual
ISAF International Umpire Manuals (Match and Team Racing)

The manuals generally relate to major regattas and championships. Irish Sailing recommends that the advice and procedures in the manuals be followed by all Irish Sailing Race Officials as best practice. The above manuals are available from ISAF to download here.

Irish Sailing Race Officials Regulations

The regulations for officials, Race Officers, Judges and Umpires, has been updated following a lengthy consultation process involving Irish Sailing board members and the groups that advise Irish Sailing on appointments along with other national sailing federations.

The advisory groups on Race Management and Judges and Umpires will continue their valuable work within the new structure. In common with most other national and international systems the new regulations require all officials to renew their appointments every four years. The four year system also allows prospective officials to build up their training and experience over a reasonable time period.

A new feature is that national grade officials are required to work at events outside their home bases. National officials are being encouraged to work on the national rather than the local stage. This has the twin outcome of bring their skills to a wider audience of sailors and giving them the experience of different clubs, classes and conditions.

Existing officials are being brought into the new system and their appointments will be renewed as they fall due in line with their initial appointments. This means that full implementation of the new regulations will take place in an orderly fashion over the next few years.

If you would be interested in doing a course to be a Race Official please see our training page here or contact Sarah-Louise Rossiter email:  sl.rossiter@sailing.ie

If your Club would like a Race Official Course delivered, please complete the attached Race Officials Course Request Form and return to Sarah-Louise at sl.rossiter@sailing.ie

 

 

Irish Sailing Race Officials facebook page link is https://www.facebook.com/ISARaceOfficial/

This page is for helping classes and clubs find a race official for events whether it is a Mark Layer, Measurer, Race Officer, Event Safety Co-Ordinator, Judge or Umpire of any level. It is also for any race officials looking to assist and officiate on an event.

If you have space on a boat, let us know!

If you need a space on a boat, let us know too!