Irish Sailing Awards

The Irish Sailing Awards recognising Irish sailing achievement in 2015 will take place early next year on February 4, 2016 at the Royal College of Surgeons in Dublin.

The marquee sailing event of the year in Ireland – the Irish Sailing Awards brings together the Irish Sailing Community, including the Irish Olympic Athletes; the media; and other key stakeholders, including Government and national sporting bodies for a Sailing event like no other in Ireland.

There will be 4 Awards recognising achievement in Irish Sailing across four categories:
Sailor of the Year | Youth Sailor of the Year | Club of the Year | Training Centre of the Year

The signature award, the Afloat Sailor of the Year, which was claimed by Anthony O’Leary last year for his achievements both at home and abroad. O’Leary and team emerged overall winners of the Commodore’s Cup in 2014, and he also claimed the ISA All Ireland Sailing Championships (Helmsmans trophy).

Last year’s awards also saw Finn Lynch take the Youth Sailor of the Year award; Mayo Sailing Club claim the Training Centre of the Year awards; and Royal Cork Yacht Club won the Mitsubishi Club of the Year award.