Sunday 4th October 2015, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin:
Photograph:  David Branigan/Oceansport

Anthony O’Leary takes 2015 title

Two-time Commodore’s cup winner and Royal Cork Yacht Club sailor, Anthony O’Leary has taken the 2015 ISA All Ireland Sailing Championship, defending his crown in a tightly fought contest today in Dublin Bay. O’Leary finished ahead of Monkstown Bay SC/Royal Cork Yacht Club sailor Alex Barry and Cillian Dickson of Howth Yacht Club claiming a fine third place finish.

Beautiful sunshine and a steady breeze awaited the sailors today for the finale of the ISA All Ireland Sailing Championship hosted by The National Yacht Club. O’Leary came into the final day, having won his group in the qualifiers, and in a tight first race was pipped to the post by Barry who took the first race of the day. O’Leary went on to win race two and four, claiming the title emphatically in a masterclass of racing.

The Royal Cork sailor has competed in the Championship numerous times and took the title for the first time in 2014, bringing home the coveted Helmsman Trophy. The O’Leary family have now taken seven of the last ten Championships home to Cork in a run of victories that will be tough to emulate. His sons Peter and Nicholas have also won the championship.

Diana Kissane, crewing for Cillian Dickson was the only female in the top three crews. Diana sails in the women’s match racing grand final at the end of October.

The Championships were managed brilliantly by Race Officer Jack Roy in trying conditions, and racing went smoothly all weekend. A big thanks to all those who supported the racing and in particular to everyone at the National Yacht Club, who looked after us so well throughout.