volvo irish sailing awards 2016

2016 Heroes of our Sport

Celebrating the Heroes of our Sport in 2016

volvo irish sailing awards 2016

To celebrate the heroes of our sport in 2016, the ISA along with our event sponsor Volvo Ireland, are hosting the Irish Sailing Awards at the end of the month. There will be four awards, including the ISA President’s Awards, the Volvo ISA Training Centre of the Year, the Volvo Youth Sailor of the Year, and the Volvo Sailor of the Year in association with Afloat Magazine. The Volvo Irish Sailing Awards will take place at the RDS Concert Hall on Friday 27 January, so email for tickets.

We’re delighted to have the following nominees for awards that represent the breadth of sailing across Ireland:

Volvo ISA Training Centre of the Year

  • Foynes Yacht Club – winner of the South Region
  • Clontarf Yacht and Boat Club – winner of the East Region
  • Mullaghmore Sailing Club – winner of the West & North Region

Volvo Youth Sailor of the Year

  • Conor O’Beirne
  • Sophie Crosbie
  • Nicole Hemeryck
  • Johnny Durcan
  • Ewan MacMahon
  • Aoife Hopkins
  • Liam Glynn
  • Tom Higgins
  • Harry Durcan & Harry Whitaker

Volvo Sailor of the Year

  • Dave Cullen
  • Nicole Hemeryck
  • Johnny Durcan
  • Douglas Elmes/Colin O’Sullivan
  • Conor Fogerty
  • Alan Rountree
  • Conor Phelan
  • Ryan Seaton and Matt McGovern
  • Finn Lynch
  • John Ryan
  • Dara O’Malley
  • Damian Foxall
  • George David
  • Ewan MacMahon
  • Barry Byrne
  • Paraic O’Maolriada and Myra Reid
  • Stephen Tudor
  • Alex Barry
  • Ian Moore
  • Conor Clarke
  • Enda O’Coineen
  • Shane McCarthy
  • Annalise Murphy

The nominee list is drawn from the 2016 Afloat Magazine Sailor of the Month winners. You can have your vote  …

Vote here for Sailor of the Year 2016