
ISA 6th Annual National 

Conference

www.sailing.ie



International Race Officials Panel

� Jack Roy IRO (Chairman of RMAG)

� Alan Crosbie IRO

� Peter Crowley IRO

� David Lovegrove IRO





Question 1

Rule 30.1 (Round-an-End) applies. Flag I was displayed.

1. 53 seconds before the start, you observe a boat on the 

course side of the line near the RC boat. 

2. She then sails down through the line and reappears beyond 

the pin end on the course side of the line. 

3. She sails back to the pre-start side of the line and starts 

with the rest of the fleet in a very good position.

What would you do?

After the start signal

In scoring her



Question 1

• Has this boat complied with 30.1?



Question 1

Rule 30.1 (Round-an-End Rule) applies. 

Answer = Yes. 

Rule 30.1 requires that the boat cross an extension of the 

starting line from the course side to the start side before she 

starts, and she meets this requirement.



Situation 2

The SIs state a time limit for boats to finish 'after the first boat 

sails the course and finishes'. 

The race was started with a Black Flag signal.

Boat A was OCS before and at the start. 

Boat B was in the triangle within the last minute, but was 

entirely on the pre-start side of the line at the start.

Boat A finished in 1st place and B finished 2nd. 



Question 2

Will the finishing time of either A or B trigger the start of the 

time limit for boats finishing 'after the first boat sails the course 

and finishes'?

Boat B will trigger the start of the time limit as she has complied 

with the definition Start and with rule 28.1.

Should the RC make a sound signal for either A or B?



Question 3

• ISAF Q&A



3 Park Road, Dun Laoghaire

Co. Dublin, Ireland

T: +353 (0)1 280 0239  F: +353 (0)1 280 7558

E: info@sailing.ie  W: www.sailing.ie

www.sailing.ie

Sport for all, Sport for Life

Contact Pamela Smithwick

e:  membership@sailing.ie

t:  01 271 0111


