Ross Nolan and Gordon Patterson from the Royal North of Ireland YC are the 2011 Squib National Champions, retaining their title at Howth Yacht Club by five points in a 7-race series (sponsored by SIAC Construction) in which they were consistently in the top three of the 37-boat fleet.

Sailing ‘Quickstep III’, the Cultra duo took the trophy ahead of clubmates David Eccles and Philip Hutchinson in ‘Inshallah’ while a strong performance from Howth’s Fergus O’Kelly and Jonathan Wormald in ‘Whipper Snapper’ was rewarded with 3rd overall. 

In stark contrast to the heavy conditions of the second day, the final race was delayed for over an hour until there was sufficient wind to start. Race Officer Derek Bothwell was later obliged to shorten the race which was won by the eventual series runners-up. 

Another RNIYC boat, ‘Born Wild’ (T&J Anderson) was second with O’Kelly/Wormald in third but 5th for ‘Quickstep III’ was more than enough to see Nolan and Patterson deservedly top the series.

Howth’s Jonathan Craig and Hazel Ruane in ‘Kerfuffle’ will be well satisfied with 4th overall, a point ahead of Travellers’ Trophy winners Peter Wallace and Kerry Boomer in ‘Toy for the boys’ from Cultra.

SIAC Construction Irish Squib Championships at HYC – overall results:
1. Quickstep III Ross Nolan/Gordon Patterson - RNIYC 14pts
2. Inshallah David Eccles/Philip Hutchinson - RNIYC 19pts
3. Whipper Snapper Fergus O’Kelly/Jonathan Wormold - HYC 21pts
4. Kerfuffle Jonathan Craig/Hazel Ruane  - HYC 26pts
5. Toy for the Boys Peter Wallace/Kerry Boomer  - RNIYC 27pts
6. Sensation Marcus & Meagan Hutchinson  - KYC 37pts

*** *** ***

Howth Yacht Club hosts the SIAC Construction Squib National Championships over the August Bank Holiday Weekend, with the biggest fleet in a decade contesting the 7-race series. Over 35 boats are expected to compete for the title, making the event one of the largest one-design keelboat events in the Irish calendar.

The 2010 National Champions, Gordon Patterson and Ross Nolan from the Royal North of Ireland YC, will be defending their title, with competition coming from clubmates Peter Wallace and Kerry Bloomer (winners of the Squib Traveller’s Trophy already), and also Aiden O’Connell and Sian McCleave of the Royal St.George YC.

The local Howth challenge will be headed by Emmet Dalton and Sé O’Leary in ‘Klipbok’ (who have narrowly missed out on a podium finish on several occasions) and Jonathan and Hazel Craig in ‘Kerfuffle’, who performed well in the recent UK Champs in Plymouth.

With plenty of sun forecast, the organisers promising that "the emphasis is on a fun weekend with social events punctuating the racing".
Posted in: Racing
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |
Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use | Developed by | Copyright 2009 by Irish Sailing Association