The organising committee for the upcoming ISAF Women’s Match Racing World Championships in Cork has announced a prize fund of €10,000 to be allocated to the top sailors competing at next week’s regatta. These semi-professional female sailors will battle it out for this top prize pot of money from the 3-8 June in Cork Harbour.

Chairman of the event Ronan Enright commented “Having a prize fund shows the commitment this event has had to attract some of the world’s best sailors. It also shows how fortunate we are to have sponsors like Cork County Council and Port Of Cork without whom we could not run such events”.

13 international teams will arrive in the oldest yacht club in the world; the Royal Cork Yacht Club in Crosshaven, next week to compete at this year’s World Championship. This includes Danish Sailor Camilla Ulrikkeholm World #1 in the Women’s Match Racing Rankings. The New Zealand entry, having to leave her own team at home, has managed to pick up some of Ireland’s own top match racing sailors including Bella Moorehead and Diana Kissane both of whom were runners-up in the Irish Match Racing trials back in April. The US entry Stephanie Roble with her team Epic Racing are also in deep preparation for their trip to Ireland and has been practicing with the US Youth Squad and some of the top US coaches including Dave Perry and Taylor Canfield. 

Great racing is expected with strong competition for the prize fund on offer. Spectators are guaranteed some nail biting sailing – all from the comfort of Camden Fort Meagher in Crosshaven.  Not only will spectators be treated to breath taking views of Cork Harbour and enjoy a coffee from the Fort’s café, they will have an unrivalled viewing point for the best racing to be seen in Cork Harbour this year. 

For this event the prize money will be allocated to the first seven teams. 

Prize Money Allocation
1st €3000   
2nd €2000 
3rd €1500 
4th €1250 
5th €1000 
6th €750 
7th €500

Competing Teams:
World #1 Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN)
World #2 Anna Kjellberg (SWE)
World #4 Lotte Meldgaard Pedersen (DEN)
World #5 Stephanie Roble (USA)
World #8 Caroline Sylvan (SWE)
World #15 Claudia Pierce (NZL)
World #17 Anne-Claire Le Berre (FRA)
World #43 Klaartje Zuiderbaan (NED)
World #50 Annabel Vose (GBR)
World #54 Lucie Scheiwiller (FRA)
World #67 Anne Christianne Kentgens (NED)
Unranked Laura Dillon (IRL)
Unranked Mary O'loughlin (IRL)

For more information see
Posted in: Racing
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |
Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use | Developed by | Copyright 2009 by Irish Sailing Association